My First Week On the Other Side.

Walker Charter Academy

I have spent the first 22 years of my life being a student. Being a teacher assistant doesn’t change that, as I will probably learn more during this semester than any semester in the past. However, this is the first time in my life where others will view me as a teacher. This is exciting as well as utterly terrifying. My first week as a teacher assistant went slightly different than planned. I got a taste of one of the small (yeah right, HUGE) benefits of teaching; snow days! With two of those bad boys to start our week, I was completely discombobulated by the time Wednesday rolled around. That first day in the classroom was awkward and full of nerves, but come Thursday you would think a week had passed. The students were already starting to warm up to Dominic (the other TA in our classroom) and I, and we were connecting more with our Cooperating Teacher (CT), Lindsey. I am already falling in love with the school and the students. I truly cannot wait to see what this semester will bring.

“The task of the modern educator is not to cut down jungles, but to irrigate deserts.”

C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

