My Goals

This past week I sat down with Dominic and one of our professors to talk about what goals we have for this semester of Teacher Assisting. Going into the meeting, I really didn’t know what to expect, nor did I know what to tell to my professor. I had so many things I wanted to accomplish this semester, how could I possibly put them into words? So naturally, when asked those dreaded words, “What are your goals for this semester, Kelsie?” a disorganized explosion of words flooded out of my mouth. I truly felt bad for the two men in the room that had to listen to my barely comprehensible mumbling, but I didn’t know how to make it stop. Eventually, with the help of my professor, I was able to organize my thoughts. I realized that what I was really wanting to focus on this semester was getting comfortable with the material I’m going to be teaching, as well as learning how to make killer (is that still cool to say?) lessons. I was really wrapped up on the idea that I don’t know how to write a lesson plan. This turned out to be kind of funny, because a few days later in my seminar class, we spent almost the entire class period talking about the format our school uses for lesson planning, and our assignment this week is to create one. It’s kind of funny how things have a way of working themselves out.

 

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.” 

– William Arthur Ward

Leave a Reply

