Engagement

We’ve been talking a lot about engagement in one of my seminars, and I couldn’t help but notice the lack-there-of from my students during certain parts of the day. It actually kind of surprised me the first time I noticed it. I was absolutely appalled that there was a possibility that every single student didn’t find me completely entertaining at all times. However, I think it was the multiple looks that resembled (more or less) this adorable picture of a baby that gave away their lack of amusement.

Image

I first noticed this lack of amusement when I was going over specific homework problems with the class. It seemed that only a few students needed help with these questions and the rest of the class was either bored because they knew the content or didn’t care to follow along. Now that I have taken over and started teaching, I wonder if I want to stop going over specific homework problems as a class all together. It seems that this class time might be better utilized doing something else based on the engagement level I have noticed during this time. There have been other times I have noticed a lower engagement level, and I am still working on figuring out how to keep the students engaged as well as what classroom management techniques I want to utilize in my future classroom. For now, I am going to try to use faces such as the ones above as a sign that maybe I should be analyzing my lessons and figuring out how I can make the activities more engaging.

“The object of teaching a child is to enable him to get along without his teacher.”

Elbert Hubbard

Leave a Reply

